Startup #67 – The Z List

zebra.jpgI’m a self-proclaimed Z-List blogger and proud of it.  Not that I don’t love each and every one of my readers, but it’s nice not to have to spend time begging for links or writing about popular topics to climb up the Technorati ladder.  I recently updated my feed to Feedburner (don’t worry, the old one still works), and I thought it would be fun to add the counter widget to show the number of readers I currently have.  You at home can count along with me.  And the best part?  You only have to use one hand!

Speaking of the Z list, today’s idea is a unique service that allows you to discover Z list bloggers based on the A list bloggers that you have in your feed readers.  Here’s how it would work.  First, the Z list bloggers would sign up for the service and choose up to three A list blogs that are most similar to their blog.  Next, users who are looking to discover new bloggers would upload their OPML file to the site.  The Z List algorithm would scan your current favorite blogs and return a Z List version of the blogs you currently read.  Users would be encouraged to rate the blogs, including the coveted “diamond in the rough” designation. 

As blogs get rated, they can move up the alphabet.  For example, if 10 people like your blog, you may get bumped up to the V List.  If 20 more people give it a good score, you may climb up to the P List.  It would be a fun way to get your blog out there and see how you rate against your fellow bloggers.

Speaking of moving on up…I’m going to be a professional blogger!  Well, not really at all, but my team at work is starting a blog and I’m going to be one of the writers.  It should be starting up in about a week, I’ll be sure to post the link in the blogroll.

One response to “Startup #67 – The Z List

  1. You have at least have six readers because you are now on my GReader… and I can’t leave articles on GReader unread without doing some psychological damage.

Leave a Reply

